116 – blessed events and whatnot

I’m home, I’m home, I’m home–and a grandma once more – to the lovely and talented Haley Leann Brewer, born Thursday, March 19, 2015, at just after noon, weighing in at 6 pounds and 13 ounces and 20 inches long.  Kelsey Brewer, daughter extraordinaire, was delivered of selfsame tiny little burden by C-section, and, though the pregnancy was brought to term early due to issues with preeclampsia, came out of it all with flying colors.

I actually ended up going up a week earlier than planned–as she wasn’t supposed to be induced until March 27, still a couple of days from now as I write this. However, issues with the Haleypreeclampsia, including blood pressure remaining high, massive weight gain in a short amount of time, edema, all kinds of stuff and such, kind of forced their hand.  They tried to mechanically induce while I was there with Kels–and I got to listen to my brave girl scream some really bad words. She hung in there, though, but they finally gave up, thank the good Lord.

We were both scarred for life by that one–and I’m thinking if she does have a third baby, that will not be an option that she will contemplate for more than a millisecond.

But, as they say, all’s well that ends well.  And it couldn’t have ended any better – healthy baby, healthy mama, both now home from the hospital.  Tyler James, who just got bumped off his “only child” perch, wasn’t having anything to do with her for a while, but is apparently coming around now that they have her home. We all cave to the inevitable in the end.

Anyway – bread’s rising  on the stove. and I’ve got a virtual interview (I’m talking to someone about a position with the company that I’m working with–not interviewing elsewhere, I promise!) (I had to say that because my boss reads my blog, and he gets nervous about stuff. :D) in about an hour and a half. Got lots of other irons in the fire before then…

Off to the races!

Leave a Reply

