114 – no requirement to repost whatsoever, I swear

One of the things I hate is when people on Facebook post vague, generalized references that they won’t then explain. It’s as if they’re seeking attention.

So, I’m about to do it, but do it in my blog. Which is better, right?

I’m sure you’ve run into this–Facebook has become such a ubiquitous part of our lives that I’ve found of late that I have to say “and don’t put this up on Facebook, please.”warningfb

Friends and family members have said the same to me, for various reasons. None of which I will cite, because I’ll be putting up a link to this blog post on Facebook once it’s complete.

Even any general references I put in this post will lead to identifying the players and raise hackles in various places, so I won’t. You know who you are. 🙂  And if it’s not you, then you’re probably not supposed to know.

OK – I will definitely admit that’s annoying.

But here is the remaining thought behind a VERY cranky post that I put up this morning. Which I then deleted.  But decided it needed to be said, anyway.  Unfortunately, the people that need to hear it most are exactly the ones who don’t read my blog. But still.

Here’s the message: If you are tempted to repost something that has, in any way, shape, form or fashion the phrase “Repost this if…” then you need to stop, right now. Seriously. Just of late, I’ve been abjured by posts that say “Repost this if…”

  • You’re Americanwarning2
  • You’re a Christian and proud of it
  • You’re an atheist and don’t care who knows
  • You are against abortion
  • You are for women’s choice
  • You’re a feminist
  • You’re not a feminist
  • You’re for gun control
  • You won’t let anyone take your guns away from you
  • And last, but definitely not least, “Repost this if you love me enough to repost it, because if you don’t repost it, then I’ll know who doesn’t love me just because you didn’t repost it.”

Stop it. You’re not in elementary school, nor am I. You don’t have to send me a note that says “Do you like me? Check yes or no.” Here’s a hint. If you’re on my Facebook feed, I probably like you. But every single one of those you post makes me like you a little bit less.

And, in the end, will make me respect you not at all.

We all have choices–and if you feel that strongly that you need to repost that stuff just so you can see who your friends are, then the only thing you want is friends who think exactly the same way you do. I honestly prefer my friends to think for themselves, rather than think exactly the way I do.

Just saying.

Rant is now over, please go back to your regularly scheduled programming.

warning

Leave a Reply

