89 – does life ever stay the same?

Well, the answer to the title above is… no.

A month ago today, I did not have a job.  Right now I have two. When I interviewed for the job at the paper, I knew it would mean relocating to a small town two hours away from my husband. When I took the second one, I knew it would mean I could go back home. And, no small wonder, the paper took me up on my offer of being a virtual editor for the time being, while they search for a replacement. It is genuinely the first time I ever left a job and they said, “No, don’t leave.” It’s flattering, to say the least.

Luckily, the new company has me on a part-time contract. For now. So, if things work out and FedEx delivers what they’re supposed to, when they’re supposed to deliver it, I will be headed home today. I have to get a dual office set up and running in time to put a paper out next week and start a new job next Thursday.

There are a lot of things I will miss about living in Alpine.  There is nothing that I will miss about being alone. Home is always where Corey is–and I knew that before, but never tested it this hard. It is very nice to know that, should push come to shove, I can live without him. It is, however, starkly apparent that I do not want to do so ever again.

And because life is seldom without reminders, on my way home, I will be doing a stopover in Fort Davis, one of the most beautifully situated towns in West Texas, to take pictures of their football team and interview their coach. For the paper.

Leave a Reply

