85 – future speculations…

Ah… three-day weekend in hand.  Cor’s still asleep, and hopefully a good night’s sleep will help him shake the cold I gave him. Sorry, honey.  I tried to keep it to myself, but you did keep risking it by kissing me. Silly boy.

I’m listening to my stomach gurgle. Out of the last six days, 48 hours has been spent throwing up pretty much every hour on the hour. There are times when the gastric bypass surgery that I had nine years ago now seems as if it were a deal with the devil, and this is one of those weeks. I am still more than a hundred pounds lighter than I was the day of the surgery… and I cling to that reality with a death grip on mornings like this.  Ah, it will pass. Everything does. It would help if it weren’t pretty much completely my fault–I ate something without paying attention to how dense it was and chewing it thoroughly, and it stuck.  Same thing that happened yesterday morning, and three days ago. Time to start eating consciously again…

Now that the pity party is over (thanks for listening!), I can go back to speculating on a future with so many unknowns that it kind of boggles me. Doesn’t stress me, per se. In fact, other than the throwing up bit, I’m actually sleeping better than I have in the last decade. Leaving last night aside, the prior two nights I slept more than eight hours, getting up finally at 7 am.  Doesn’t sound late, probably, but for me, it’s two to three hours past my norm since 2005… I think I like it, but I feel oddly guilty at the same time, like I’m late for something.

Not sure for what… as I’m not even pressuring myself to finish the latest projects I’ve been working on…but one thing I did finish was taking the hand drawing Corey made of the house we are thinking of building some day, and make it into a “blueprint” using Excel. Same way we design furniture, pretty much…

 

houseplan2

This is the morning’s iteration – it’s a monster house, honestly, and don’t know if we’d ever need this much room… but basically, it’s just a big rectangle under one peaked roof running right down the center, covering the garage, the patio and the porch.  Two master suites, a workroom, office, and shaded room for outdoor living in a warm climate… a walk-through pantry to make grocery put away easy-sneezy, and a front porch that runs the whole length of the front of the house. A powder room in the office area, as well… I hate people using my bathroom.

So… this is the dream.  Or perhaps it’s A dream.  Two weeks ago, the dream was to find a place in East Texas–but reality smacks you around about dreams, and you have to adjust your thinking. So, for now, at least, the thought is that we look for four or five acres somewhere halfway between here and East Texas, no more than four hours away from here, so it’s an easy drive to spend the weekend. Eventually. We pay for the land in cash, and then we start socking serious money away to put a house together one major piece at a time, paying cash up front. No mortgage, no building loan, no nothing. One thing at a time.

Reality does tend to intrude… just as a for instance, research shows that, supposedly, if your house is more than 32 feet wide, roof trusses have to be specially created, as 32 feet is the largest standard truss.  The house we’ve designed ends up being 51 or 52′ deep and 78′ long the way we have it designed now.  I could probably shrink it to 32… but can we not build our own roof trusses? People just don’t question this stuff, you know… It’s like us building our own furniture.  Seriously, we probably spent ten cents on the dollar you would spend if you bought these pieces from a store. If that much. People spend so much money because they don’t question the basic premise.  And I think we’re in the “question everything” mode that is really healthy for us.

Off to go make another cup of tea… and get some coffee going for the man whose hard work is allowing me to have the time and energy to think about all this stuff. On that note… do you remember the old Monday’s Child rhyme about the day you were born?  Corey was born on Friday, and I was born on a Sunday. Just a thought (squirrel!)

There’s a perpetual calendar here if you don’t know what day of the week you were born on (skip the explanation, go down to the bottom of the page and put in the month and year you were born, and it will show you the calendar for that month).

Monday’s child is fair of face
Tuesday’s child is full of grace
Wednesday’s child is full of woe
Thursday’s child has far to go
Friday’s child is loving and giving
Saturday’s child works hard for a living
But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day
Is bonny and blithe and good and gay.[1]

Leave a Reply

