44 – relearning web design for the karmically challenged

As Mr. Peabody would say, “Set the Wayback Machine for 1997, Sherman!” The irony, of course, is that the reference to Mr. Peabody is a memory from even further back than ’97. Mr. Peabody was a genius-level dog of unknown vintage, and his boy was named Sherman.  They existed as filler in my favorite cartoon,The Rocky and Bullwinkle Show. Those newer to the planet than I am may also remember the year 2000 movie The Adventures of Rocky and Bullwinkle, or the Showtime version of another filler piece, Boris and Natasha: The Movie.  More irony, Dreamworks has a movie coming out, “Mr. Peabody and Sherman,” in March 2014.

biggest roadrunner anywhere
world’s largest roadrunner, known as Paisano Pete (I don’t know why) is the nearest town’s mascot

OK, I’m done with the pop culture references.  For now.

Anyway, because I am easily annoyed, I am now in the process of designing a website again, for the first time in what seems like forever. Karma for me is seldom a long-drawn-out process–it’s instantaneous, thank you very much.  I’ll leave it at that… there are too many ways to be happy, as long as you aren’t looking for sad or angry or annoying.

I just deleted a higgledy-piggledy look at my web-writing and designing history, and you’re very welcome. It was boring even to me.  Let’s just say that I haven’t designed or written exclusively for websites in about ten years.

So, Thursday morning at dark-30 I began working with a new website of my own–not giving the link to it yet because I’m still constructing it. Late morning, we went into town and got the truck registered and licensed in Texas (yay!).  In the afternoon I put away electronic things and helped Corey pick up vehicles on the ranch.  We drove 22 miles for one of them, and were still on the ranch… did I mention that we’re living about ten miles into 350,000 acres? It’s a BIG ranch.

As we made our way across valley after valley, we saw wild turkeys, a couple of whitetail bucks, eight or ten-point, they were moving too fast to tell… a couple of whitetail does with their babies, the flock of wild turkeys that marches up and down the road with impunity, a half-dozen longhorns, a hawk surveying his territory, and a roadrunner raced me for a little bit on the way back from picking up the last truck. This place is amazing…

Leave a Reply

