41 – sunday morning is the next best thing

OK, I have to admit that Saturday mornings are my favorite.  Sunday mornings are right up there, though… Been unusually ambitious for a Sunday and have bread dough rising on the stove. Told you I was experimenting on the bread thing – I’m using half Mama’s recipe, with a few of my variations added in:

  • 1 packet of yeast
  • 1 cup of warm water
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil + 1 tablespoon
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • two teaspoons of salt
  • 3 to 4 cups of flour

I always proof the yeast (add the packet with a sprinkle of sugar to a warm cup of water).  After it’s got bubbly, everything goes in the large bowl except flour and the extra tablespoon of oil.  I add the flour one cup at a time through the three-cup mark, and stir until it won’t stir any more… then I put about a quarter cup of flour on the smooth surface where I’m going to knead the dough, and dump the sticky dough in the middle of it.  Then I start kneading the dough, and keep it up for three to five minutes, until the dough is fairly smooth and elastic.  Add flour as you need to in order to get that dough to stop being sticky, and as my Mama said in her original recipe, knead it as long as you feel like it.

Wash out the bowl you used to mix it in, and put the extra tablespoon of oil in the clean, dry bowl. Put your dough in it, and turn it over a few times to coat the outside of the dough ball with oil.  Put a clean, damp dishcloth over it (or some people cover with oiled plastic wrap) and let rise until double.  I’m using this particular dough to make hamburger buns – once the dough has doubled, I’ll punch it down and then cut it into 16 to 18 pieces, which I’ll roll out as flat as I can make them.  Then I’ll let the pans, covered with the dishcloth again, rise for a bit on the stove as it warms up to 375 degrees.  Baking time is 20-25 minutes.

2 thoughts on “41 – sunday morning is the next best thing

Leave a Reply

