23 – and on the other hand

I felt like I had ten hands yesterday… or more.  And I decided to bring one of the comments into this next post, because a) I love her, and she knows it, and b) I heard my mother’s voice throughout every sentence, and it nearly made me cry. I miss my mama every day, and having someone love me enough to say “Are you crazy?” makes me miss her even more.

Thank you to those who voted in the poll (and voted overwhelmingly to go with Corey’s job, rather than mine).  I know you could tell by the last post that we never do anything without thought–we think EVERYthing through.  Ad nauseam. Ask our son–who used his headphone and iPod in sheer self-defense on every car trip. Corey and I could seriously talk about whether to use tile, vinyl or vinyl tile on a

There is beauty to be found anywhre.
There is beauty to be found anywhre.

bathroom floor for hours.

Below are my much-loved friend Linda’s comments and questions in bold and my ripostes inline:

Do you feel lucky?  Yes.  I do.  Not least because I married Corey, and that makes me feel like I’m the luckiest woman in the world.  OK, that’s the sappy answer. 🙂 The real answer is that Corey and I make our own luck. We did before we met each other, and have continued to do so together.  Hard work, determination and bullheadedness will beat luck almost every time.

Jobs with circumstances like the one Cor has been offered are for young, healthy, self-sufficient individuals, with no kids or little kids (preferably not accident prone).  You’re right that we’re not young–but Corey’s nine years younger than I am.  Healthy, yes, to the largest extent with some acknowledged exceptions for me.  Not having kids at home was part of what sold us to them–the isolation is apparently tougher for those who try to keep their kids in a public school, or those trying to home school. I don’t think we’re accident-prone… but that reminds me that I want to get the life-flight accident coverage, ’cause most health plans only cover a little of that–and if it’s a true emergency, that will be the only way to get one of us to a hospital speedily.  Self-sufficient… as long as we have each other, yes.

Chances are the bloom will be off the rose in a short period of time, what with the travel to conveniences.  OK, I know it’s cock-eyed optimism to think that we will never get tired of driving an hour to get to a store.  We will.  And in particular, I will–one of the main reasons that I would give up the job I’ve been offered if Corey got his job is because I’d be driving an hour every morning and every evening.  I can’t say from here how long I can take it–but the thought of time to write in the mornings makes me happier than I can even say.  And there’s every possibility of me getting some part-time work at the ranch to supplement.

I have done it, and hated it, but I was older.  If you live that far from town, temptations will be few but gas mileage will kill you.  This is why there is a necessity of me not taking on the job at the paper if Corey gets the ranch job.  If I commuted every day from the ranch, the first and last hour of my day would literally be taken up just to pay for the gas.

How good could the money be, and how long would you need to stay there before you split in order to make it pay?  For this area, the money’s reasonable–and the benefits and accommodations are outstanding.  If Corey went to work in the oilfield, there is no doubt that it would be better for our bottom line.  The hourly wage would be about the same, but what earns money in the field is overtime.  And what kills so many marriages… is the overtime.  If he went to work in the closest field, he would be working ten days, off four–during those four, he would sleep pretty much for the first two.  And IF those two happen over a weekend, we’d get to spend that together.  We did that bit before we left here–we had exactly one weekend a month together.  Honestly, both of us are perfectly willing to take a lower wage to be able to see each other every night and have our downtime together. 

In terms of what the break-even point is for us, it’s an interesting question.  Because we came out of Oregon with no debt except the truck, we’re in good shape.  We paid cash for the car and for the House McNugget… and as soon as we’ve got the li’l house parked somewhere, we’ll most likely sell that big beastie–we got a good price for it, they hold their value well, and we aren’t upside down in it. So the answer is… our break-even point is pretty much his second or third paycheck, because we will need to get a certain amount of furniture for the house.  While I plan to get older furniture and refinish/repaint/ refresh it, it will still cost a bit for the diesel to run the big mamma-jamma truck into Fort Stockton or Midland/Odessa to hunt for bargains. So, in other words, the break even point is probably January.

You KNOW it’s not going to be permanent!  If there is anything I’ve learned in recent years, it would be that we have a high tolerance for change. The kicker, though–we thought my job at Cisco was permanent.  Buying the truck and the House McNugget was based on that, and I am still breathless from having that rug yanked out from under us. NOTHING is permanent.  But if Corey’s happy at work and home every night, it’s got a lot more possibility of permanence.

I meant what I said at the beginning – your expression of concern for our possible idiocy in taking this on is appreciated more than you know!  There are other things that go into the decision:

We would only have survived on my wage at the paper by pulling money out of savings to supplement. We do not want to go backwards, and so Corey would have to be back out in the oilfield.

With this job, and Corey’s salary added to the housing that we won’t have to pay, and him working 200 yards from the house, and coming home for lunch… it sounds like heaven from here. I know this isn’t without risk. But I also know we are not terribly social people, so the need for other people to surround ourselves isn’t much of a consideration for us.

And for Cor, it’s a chance to work in a smaller organization and show what he can do–to put that shop together that works, because it’s his work that makes it so. To be asked to take on more responsibility because he gets the chance to do it right.

And bluntly, if it’s not right for us, it’s not. We will never know unless we try.

And for those who have been waiting to find out… Corey got the job, it didn’t even take them 24 hours to let him know.  We’ll move the House McNugget out there sometime next week, and will stay in it while they get the remodeling finished on the house.  I’ll be contacting my old friend at the paper today to let her know I won’t be taking the job.

(_|_) (_/_) (_|_) (_\_) (_|_) (_/_) (_|_) (_\_) (_|_) (_/_) (_|_) (_\_) (_|_) (_/_) (_|_) (_\_) (_|_)

That would be the happy boo-tay dance of joy, danced to the conga beat. 🙂

One thought on “23 – and on the other hand

  1. Well done, my dear! You have thought it through and chosen for all the right reasons. Some facts and factors are known only or best to you. Let the adventure begin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

