22 – which hand to pick?

Remember the game where a sibling or an adult would extend their hands, obviously with something clutched in each fist, and you were expected to choose one? Then they’d turn their hands over and open them and happiness or sadness would ensue, dependent on if you picked the right hand.  Well, actually, the third reaction was “Ewwww!” when my brother had a snail or a frog, or something else that was squishy and/or yucky.

Life is, once again, extending its hands for us to choose… and there is no ick factor involved. We have to decide between two possibilities.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

On one hand…(left hand, if it matters)

  • I have a job waiting for me in an industry that I love.

On the other (right hand–which kind of presages the result now, doesn’t it)

  • If he gets it, his new job pays more than twice what my job offer does, and does it from the jump.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

On one hand…

  • My job’s a sure thing.  They want me, they actually wanted me to start today, but I’ve put them off until next week to give us some breathing room. Went and talked to them, and they understand what the choices are that we have to make.

On the other…

  • They haven’t told him that he has a job yet, and his job has a probation period.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

On one hand…

  • If I took the job offer, we had planned to move the House McNugget out to Corey’s friend Phillip’s land, and he didn’t want rent–we would just have to pay for electric and water and TV.

On the other…

  • If Corey passes the probation period of about a month, they will put us up in a just-remodeled house to live in, at no cost to us at all.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

On one hand…

  • His workplace is isolated, and getting to town would be a 45-minute drive to even get to a convenience store

On the other…

  • If you take the possibility of obtaining the drug of choice (food) from this food junkie, that is a really, really good thing, as it would mean a 45-minute drive to get to convenience stores or fast food.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

On one hand…

  • There’s no correlative job offer for Cor with my job.

On the other…

  • There is with his. It’s sporadic, but the hourly wage is approximately 50% more than I would be making at the job I’m being offered.  So 27 hours at that job is equal to 40 hours at the job in town.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Other unknowns… the new job has a 401K with match, and just don’t know what the job they offered me has. Both jobs have health insurance, holidays, etc., and both have paid time off, probably comparable but unknown.

The voices inside my head have parked themselves on opposite horns of my dilemma–or at least the girls have.  Ethel is plumping for me taking the job in hand, as she sees it being worth two in the mesquite bush.   Brittany is all on the side of “show me the money!” as the deciding factor.  She’s a bit of a gold digger, that one.

Dexter’s not talking to me at the moment–all this dithering makes him twitchy. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “22 – which hand to pick?

Leave a Reply

